Witty Romantic Quotes from Before Sunrise


Alright, alright. Think of it like this: jump ahead, ten, twenty years, okay, and you’re married.

Only your marriage doesn’t have that same energy that it used to have, y’know.

You start to blame your husband. You start to think about all those guys you’ve met in your life and what might have happened if you’d picked up with one of them, right?

Well, I’m one of those guys. 

That’s me y’know, so think of this as time travel, from then, to now, to find out what you’re missing out on.

See, what this really could be is a gigantic favor to both you and your future husband to find out that you’re not missing out on anything. I’m just as big a loser as he is, totally unmotivated, totally boring, and, uh, you made the right choice, and you’re really happy.

These words are taken from ‘Before Sunrise’. A pretty old movie, released in 1995. That was a pickup line, yes. But not just another pickup lines. It’s obvious, but humble. Not too demanding or forcing. It’s smart and even funny. Something that would come out from someone with perfect tongue, as skilled as a drugseller. Now that I think about it, those sentences actually very tricky. But I didn’t think. I totally mesmerized by Jesse the moment he said those words. If I were Celine, I’d probably be speechless while spontaneously step out of the train. That’s what she did, anyway.

awkward :p

Celine and Jesse

Daydream delusion, limousine eyelash

Oh baby with your pretty face

Drop a tear in my wineglass

Look at those big eyes

See what you mean to me

Sweet-cakes and milkshakes

I’m a delusion angel

I’m a fantasy parade

I want you to know what I think

Don’t want you to guess anymore

You have no idea where I came from

We have no idea where we’re going

Lodged in life

Like branches in a river

Flowing downstream

Caught in the current

I carry you

You’ll carry me

That’s how it could be

Don’t you know me?

Don’t you know me by now?

Of course, there’s a poetry. Every female heroine from any romantic tale usually has someone who writes them a special poetry. But what if the one who wrote the poetry wasn’t the prince charming? Would it still be romantic if the poetry came from a street poet, a total stranger, because your lover wasn’t a romantic person who write poetries? That kind of situation, I may say, is not often to be found.. And there it was, suddenly popped up as a scene in Before Sunrise. Now I know what it feels like: plain romantic!

It’s a simple poetry that was written by a street poet in about a few minutes. Based on one random word that was picked by Celine: milkshake. Then somehow, magically, it fits their story perfectly. They’re two strangers who don’t know each other. They’re wandering around Vienna like two people with no direction or purpose. They treasure each other. Curious about each other. And somehow they end up being comfortable with each other’s presence and mind. It’s like they found each other.

Jesse: Yeah. So, uh, were we having our first fight back there?

Celine: No, (laughs)

Jesse: Yeah, I think so, I think we were.

Celine: Well, even if we were a little bit, y’know. Why does everyone think conflict is so bad. There’s a lot of good things coming out of conflict.

Once upon a time, someone told me that she didn’t like a certain movie because there’s too much conversation and less action in it. Well. I totally could relate to her. I always hate slow-paced movies, that usually have too much talk, with no special effect or such. But I don’t know why, I enjoy listening to every conversation in Before Sunrise.

I guess it’s true that we could learn and gain some good things after we overcome conflicts. Even if it’s a movie with too much talks.

JesseYou know what drives me crazy? It’s all these people talking about how great technology is, and how it saves all this time. But, what good is saved time, if nobody uses it? If it just turns into more busy work. You never hear somebody say, “With the time I’ve saved by using my word processor, I’m gonna go to a Zen monastery and hang out”. I mean, you never hear that.

That’s our smartass guy, Jesse, talked like an expert. Gave some insights about life, like the wisest man on earth..

Celine: You know, I’ve been wondering lately. Do you know anyone who’s in a happy relationship?

Jesse: Uh, yeah, sure. I know happy couples. But I think they lie to each other.

Celine: Hmf. Yeah. People can lead their life as a lie. My grandmother, she was married to this man, and I always thought she had a very simple, uncomplicated love life. But she just confessed to me that she spent her whole life dreaming about another man she was always in love with. She just accepted her fate. It’s so sad.

Jesse: I guarantee you, it was better that way. If she’d ever got to know him, I’m sure he would have disappointed her eventually.

Celine: How do you know? You don’t know them.

Jesse: Yeah, I know, I know. It’s just, people have these romantic projections they put on everything. That’s not based on any kind of reality.

Watching before Sunrise actually made me realize a not-so-important-but-embarassing thing: I’m such a hopeless romantic person. There, I admit it.

This dialogue above reminds me of a sad sad sad life scenario that I hope, with all my heart, wouldn’t happen to me. Like, being trapped in a loveless marriage. Or worse, being in love with someone I can’t be with, and married someone else instead. Or worst, to think that I’m in love with someone, but actually not, only an imaginary character of him. And then I can’t forget him, even if I was getting married with someone else—a poor guy who’s lost to an imaginary man. Tragic.

Celine: When you talked earlier about after a few years how a couple would begin to hate each other by anticipating their reactions or getting tired of their mannerisms-I think it would be the opposite for me. I think I can really fall in love when I know everything about someone-the way he’s going to part his hair, which shirt he’s going to wear that day, knowing the exact story he’d tell in a given situation. I’m sure that’s when I know I’m really in love.

Lucky her. I’ve realized that I never had that kind of feeling about anybody. Is that really what people call love?

Jesse: I kind of see this all love as this escape, for two people who don’t know how to be alone. People always talk about how love is this totally unselfish, giving thing, but if you think about it, there’s nothing more selfish.

That’s it, Jesse. THAT’S IT! You sounds so true.

Celine: We, maybe we should try something different. I mean, it’s no so bad if tonight is our only night, right? People always exchange phone numbers, addresses, they end up writing once, calling each other once or twice…

Jesse: Right. Fizzles out. Yeah, I mean, I don’t want that. I hate that.

Celine: I hate that too, y’know.

Jesse: Why do you think everybody thinks relationships are supposed to last forever anyway?

Celine: Yeah, why. It’s stupid.

Yeah, I totally know what it feels like, okay. I had done something like that, and I regret it. I literally met a guy in a train station, had some conversations, laughed together.. Then before my train came he asked my number. And I gave it. And he’s been texting me since then. He’s been texting me like we’re in a long-distance relationship or something. But who are you kidding here? We’re not. We’re just two strangers who met in a train station. It might sounds harsh, but it’s the truth, okay!

Back to Jesse and Celine, they’re nothing like me and my densha otoko*. They spend more time together, and they have this obvious chemistry between them. Anyone can see it clearly! (and that’s why they’re in a movie, helloo.. LOL) But seriously, they’re totally into each other. Still, they refused to admit it like sceptic college students who tried to be anti-mainstream. Exchanging numbers doesn’t make you dumb or shallow, you know?

Celine: Maybe we should meet here in five years or something.

Jesse: All right, all right, five year- Five years! That’s a long time!

Celine: It’s awful! It’s like a sociological experiment!

Here they go again.. Really, you wanna do an experiment or research study on your feelings?

Jesse: Listen, if somebody gave me the choice right now, of to never see you again or to marry you, alright, I would marry you, alright. And maybe that’s a lot of romantic bullshit, but people have gotten married for a lot less.

Aw, they’re just so cute. Like, being naive at each other, denying their obvious feelings, and then regret it later. They, especially Jesse, talked like they don’t believe in love; but their story makes me believe in love, a little. Is that what people do when they’re in love? I can’t take it anymore. I’m soo envy~

What makes Before Sunrise a special movie for me, besides those quotes, I think it’s also because of the sequel. They made a sequel 9 years later, with the same actor and actress, which are growing old naturally. Personally I found it’s kind of funny, you know, because in Jesse’s pickup line he asked Celine to ‘jump ahead’ to her future, like 10 years later.. So this sequel might be some kind of answer to Jesse’s visions about the future: Is Celine married? Is she tired of her husband? The questions could go on and on.

The sequel is called Before Sunset. Still full of witty conversations that I love so much, refusal of ordinary typical love story which always has a happy ending, but that doesn’t mean they ended it with some tragic or cruel events.. The difference in the sequel was Jesse and Celine were older and more adult-like. They’re still very sceptical, but less naive. At least they admitted that they were stupid 9 years ago, for holding on a promise to meet again without exchanging numbers or adresses or whatever.

Oh and when I said that they’re more adult-like.. well, not really. They did stupid things. They’re still in love with each other, afterall, regardless of the fact that they denied it. Again.

There’s also a cute twist in these movies..

Before Sunrise (1995)

Before Sunrise (1995)

Before Sunset (2004)

Before Sunset (2004)

Overall, I really like both of their movies!

If you like romantic movies, watching them is a must. Believe me. And this year, 2013, exactly 9 years after ‘Before Sunset’, I heard there’s another sequel coming soon: Before Midnight. Let’s wait and see..

###

*densha otoko = train guy, japanese

5 thoughts on “Witty Romantic Quotes from Before Sunrise

  1. How can a movie have one conversation throughout and still be watchable hundred times over. A must watch for all the hopeless romantics out there.

Leave a Reply

