2012 in review

I know it’s kinda late to post this now, but I found this on my dashboard stats..

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

That’s actually some kind of ‘evaluation for a whole year’ for my blog life.

So here’s my confession. I never thought I’d write a blog for public. And actually, I never did. There are many people out there who write a blog for commercial reasons, and trying to get as many readers/subcribers, but it’s not what I’m doing here. Well, maybe someday I will, but not today.

This tiny little blog has been my sanctuary for years. Three years and five months, to be exact. I remember the first time I wrote here. It was in September 2009 and I was writing a trash about being an adult and whatnot. How nostalgic. I was writing in Indonesian, because that’s my native language. Nowadays I write in English, sometimes. And the reason I started to write in English was not because I’m trying to “Globalize” or something like that. I was trying to learn. I wish I could train my self to write a good English. I wish to upgrade my writing skill through this tiny sanctuary.

Apparently it helps a little. I’ve got a high score in writing section in iBT. Maybe, just maybe, writing a blog in English really help increasing your writing skill. Eventhough you don’t really always know what you’re writing about. :p

What I’m trying to say is, I’m perfectly aware that everything written in internet—-that includes my blog, this very blog—-is a public consumption. Everyone, anyone, from around the world is capable to access this blog if they want to. Whether they are really looking for a specific article in this blog or they only accidentally bump into this blog.

Public can access my writings, but I didn’t write for public. I’ve been writing for myself.

This is my personal space, that gradually becomes a special place for me, everytime I try to get away from my routines, tiring daily life. This is my escape. My secret passage to a lawless world where my mind could go wild a little.

Then sometimes there are comments. I admit, knowing that there are people out there who actually read my blog is thrilling. Sometimes without I fully realize it, maybe those comments, no matter how long or short they are, no matter if it’s only a few little words, they help me to write more.

Reading a new comment on my blog is always exciting (as long as it’s not spam!), and I can’t thank you guys enough for leaving those words for me. For letting me know that you’re there.. That’s why the moment anyone write a comment, their ava can be seen in ‘friends’ box widget. I’m grateful to have met some friends, old and new, through this blog.

Now I’m starting to sounds like Julie from ‘Julie and Julia’—eventhough I’m not anywhere near her. -_-‘

The new Boeing 787 Dreamliner can carry about 250 passengers. This blog was viewed about 1,800 times in 2012. If it were a Dreamliner, it would take about 7 trips to carry that many people.

But wait.. maybe this post is not really late being published. It’s Chinese New Year afterall. Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Click here to see the complete report.

Leave a Reply

